Ten on Tuesday

1. Watch this if you haven’t—it’s making the rounds and is SO wonderful.

~

2. A Neighborhood Watch person should not be carrying a gun. I’m just saying.

The discussion about this incident is bizarre, too. Like, if they can just prove the shooter wasn’t a racist, or guilty of profiling, then the incident would somehow cease being completely horrific. News flash: they could both have chartreuse skin and it would still be horrific.

~

3. I do writery things now. Like look at proposed book covers, and receive permissions in the mail for quotes I’m using in the book. It’s weird. I feel like I’m playing dress up.

~

4. I’m also attending the Festival of Faith and Writing for the first time next month. Can’t wait. Been hearing about this shindig for years.

~

Mason Neck State Park. I didn't take this but it looked liked this when we went.

5. Saturday I took the kids to Mason Neck State Park (20 minutes from our house) for some bike riding. The kids went five miles, even Jamesy! Afterward we walked the trail to the beach. I had James by the hand and the girls were walking up ahead, arm and arm in the slanting sun. So lovely. We’re happy spring has arrived.

~

6. I finished the Hunger Games trilogy. I really enjoyed the series, and thought the writing was just fine. (A few of my friends panned it.) It’s hard to read them as a mother though. You want to protect all of the children from such heinous violence and exploitation. I also found myself wondering how Katniss’s story was impacting her mother. But there was none of that in the books… which, considering they are young adult novels, is entirely appropriate.

~

7. It’s not Friday, but here’s a little link love: Why We Have to Go Back to the Forty-Hour Week to Save Our Sanity:

It’s a heresy now (good luck convincing your boss of what I’m about to say), but every hour you work over 40 hours a week is making you less effective and productive over both the short and the long haul. And it may sound weird, but it’s true: the single easiest, fastest thing your company can do to boost its output and profits — starting right now, today — is to get everybody off the 55-hour-a-week treadmill, and back onto a 40-hour footing.

Yes, this flies in the face of everything modern management thinks it knows about work. So we need to understand more. How did we get to the 40-hour week in the first place? How did we lose it? And are there compelling bottom-line business reasons that we should bring it back?

Our church treasurer tells me that according to our presbytery, full-time is 50 hours. When did this happen and why? I know many people in our congregations work way beyond that. But aren’t we called to model a different way?

When I first started in ministry I read a book by Roy Oswald in which he said that pastors cannot work more than 50 hours a week on a consistent basis without suffering physically, mentally and spiritually. I’ve taken that to heart as much as possible. Note that he wasn’t lifting up 50 as the ideal, but as the upper limit, beyond which you can suffer harm.

I recently asked a head of staff how many hours he works and he said, “You don’t want to ask that.” Actually, I do. We need to be asking that of each other and ourselves.

I know the economy is still not great for a lot of folks. People are afraid to complain because at least they have a job.

But we’re kinda messed up when it comes to time.

~

8. I’ve hit a big plateau with the weight loss. Good news is that I am in “normal” range according to the BMI. But I’ve lost the same pound about three times in the last few weeks. I’ve been less strict on the weekends and that has hurt me. I’m trying various suggestions and we’ll hopefully push through.

~

9. By the way, I don’t want to say weight loss is easy, but I’m kind of amazed any of us lost weight effectively before smartphone apps like MyFitnessPal. It’s really a quantum leap in terms of surpassing everything that came before. I’ve done a variety of things over the years, including Weight Watchers, and there really is no comparison in terms of ease and usefulness.

Maintaining will be the challenge for me. I am such a goal-oriented person that once I’ve reached mine (eight pounds to go) I am wondering whether I will slack off. Thankfully the tools and approaches to maintaining are much the same as losing.

~

10. Speaking of goals, I’m looking for a good 10K. Anyone know one?

Would love to hear what’s knocking around your brain this Tuesday.

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday

  1. Sue Ferguson says:

    I am glad I am not the only one with a myriad of Tuesday morning thoughts – but I am not nearly to together as to get mine down on “paper”. What’s your timeline for a 10k? Assume you need a Saturday morning one? SO annoying that most races are Sunday mornings. I need to sign up for a race – any race at this point..cause I am also a goal type.

  2. I am with you on maintaining weight (loss – after NPR Saturday morning “Car Talk,” – the U.K. sheep and I like – Peter Sagal and Carl Kasell host – my version “Weight weight don’t tell me.”). And, yes, I know where there is a (very) good Ten Grand.

Leave a Reply

