Friday Link Love

Jo Rowling

First, I love all the responses to the Sunday School post. Let’s keep that conversation going, shall we?

And now…

J.K. Rowling’s Writing Process in Her Own Words — Shelley Souza

This is just a fun read for HP fans, and obviously of interest for writers too:

Her compelling cast of characters came to life in her imagination because she never faltered in her belief that Harry Potter was the story she was meant to write.

It took me five years to work out this very long plot. On that train, I came up with lots of the characters you meet at the school. Loads and loads of detail, but not really the narrative. It’s as though, subconsciously, for years, I had been preparing for writing Harry Potter.

During those five years this mass of material was generated, some of which will never find its way into the books, will never need to be in the books. It’s just stuff I need to know, for my own pleasure—partly for my own pleasure and partly because I like reading a book where I have a sense that the author knows everything. They might not be telling me everything but you have that confidence that the author really knows everything.

~
Good list, geared toward pastors. They all resonate, especially the one about not just reading leadership/administration books. I easily get sucked into those, because they are required for the transformation training I’m doing, they’re easy to read, and yes, they’re useful. Instead I have this weird idea that in this, the first year of my fifth decade, I want to only read literature that was written before I was born. Sort of a way of getting perspective on just how short a time I’ve been on this planet. So much of what I read is of the moment. Not sure I’ll do that but the thought intrigues me.
~
The Seven Laws of Leanness — Women’s Health Magazine
Good reminders here. There really is no trick to it, folks.
~
So every six months I have an automatic tickler that reminds Robert and me to have the safety reminder discussion with the kids. How do you call 911 and why? What’s the fire plan? What about going with strangers?
I clipped this article several months ago, which talks about how confusing the “don’t talk to strangers” thing is. Because sometimes you have to.

It’s all part of rewriting the rules of stranger danger. “That message is not effective,” says Cirillo. “Stranger danger portrays a man jumping out of a bush with a trenchcoat on, and children are trained to look just for that.”

The National Center for Missing & Exploited Children agrees; like Cirillo, the Center focuses on teaching kids to speak up for themselves and never go anywhere with anyone they’re not supposed to be with. But cases like Leiby’s happen and we need to talk to our kids about how to handle them — namely, scream loudly, “You’re not my mom” until someone pays attention and never, no matter what, get into a car or go into someone’s home unless you’ve got parental permission.

But in refining the stranger danger axiom, Cirillo prefers to teach children about “tricky people” rather than zero in on sinister strangers. Who are they? “Anyone who tries to get you to break your safety rules,” she says.

~

And on a happier note… if you are a pastor, educator or worship leader with kids in your congregation, you need to be reading Worshiping with Children. It’s just chock full.

~

Have a wonderful weekend, folks.

2 thoughts on “Friday Link Love

  1. Sue Bender also spent five years writing her first book (actual writing was toward the end). Her three books have a huge and lasting impact on me. I am about half way (almost 2 1/2 years so far) – poetry.
    I also identify with her method.

  2. Rachel Heslin says:

    I like the “child safety rule” about “tricky people”! I remember going over rules with Hunter when he was 5, including having our “secret password” before he was allowed to go anywhere with anyone, even if they said that I told them to get him. When I said that, if anyone tried to take him anyway, he had permission to scream as loud as he could, his eyes got as big as saucers. He was delighted at the idea. 😀

Leave a Reply

