This is Now

Heads down time for me: This is my last blog entry for a while—see you when the book is done. Until then, I leave you with one of my favorite quotes about the passage of time.

When the fiddle had stopped singing Laura called out softly, “What are days of auld lang syne, Pa?”

“They are the days of a long time ago, Laura,” Pa said. “Go to sleep, now.”

But Laura lay awake a little while, listening to Pa’s fiddle softly playing and to the lonely sound of the wind in the Big Woods. She looked at Pa sitting on the bench by the hearth, the fire-light gleaming on his brown hair and beard and glistening on the honey-brown fiddle. She looked at Ma, gently rocking and knitting.

She thought to herself, “This is now.”

She was glad that the cosy house, and Pa and Ma and the fire-light and the music, were now. They could not be forgotten, she thought, because now is now. It can never be a long time ago.

3 thoughts on “This is Now

  1. Katherine says:

    I love, love, love that quote. And, it kind of cracks me up that you’re quoting Little House, as I reread the whole series during the last 6 weeks of my writing. Godspeed! You can do it! I truly cannot wait to read it.

  2. Shala says:

    Wonderful quote. Mine is from a Pooh book. I’d find it for you, but I have a cat on my lap and he’s purring. Plus you need to be writing not reading long winded comments.

    Good luck. We’re rooting for you over here.

  3. Sarah E says:

    Thank you, and writing mercies

Leave a Reply

