Move Over Mitch: Sam Bee Gets It

Does that kid look just like Jason Jones or what?!

It’s my first day back to work after last week’s ultra-fun but ultra-tiring staycation with the kids. So it was great timing to read this hilarious piece my Samantha Bee. (Thank you Casey.)

Oddly enough, it has a very similar message, with none of the plaintive, child-free cluelessness, as Mitch Albom’s call for someone to please think of the children! Which I railed on here and here.

Take it away Sam:

Let’s be clear about something: I love my children more than life itself, and I would happily lay down my life or yours for them, as required. And I am a “tiger mother” of sorts; except that in my case, I’m the tiger who lays there helplessly in the sun as her tiger babies climb all over her, tugging on her fur and generally having their way with her. It’s summer vacation with the kids again, and I am in full “weary tiger” mode.

I just don’t have any more energy to dig in and renovate my children into super-intelligent reading cyborgs for the first day of school. I can’t do any more rainy day activities with dry oatmeal in a cardboard box. I simply will not sing the “Fruit Salad Salsa” even one more time; if the children can’t get behind Neil Young that’s their problem until school starts up again. And my stern warnings have become completely senseless; “I’m warning you—if you don’t eat all your Gummy Worms you’re not getting any Sour Patch Kids! I am tired of wasting all this good candy!”

Frankly, from now until September the only learning we will be engaging in will be movie-based. I plan to let them watch “Star Wars,” and will continue to play it in a constant loop until they can imaginatively explain to me what it might feel like to “make the Kessel Run in less than 12 parsecs.” It’s all I can do to stave off the pandemonium that could be.

More at the link. And God bless you Samantha Bee… from one weary tiger to another.

One thought on “Move Over Mitch: Sam Bee Gets It

  1. ceemac says:

    I’m going to venture into dangerous territory here.

    I am the same age as Albom, 53. I grew up in the suburbs of a samll city in the Mtns of NC. (yep the one near that presby Mecca)

    I don’t have children. So I am going to tread carefully.

    One thing Albom does not mention is how the nature of the parent/child relationship has changed since we were kids. And that change is good for the most part but it can be confusing to observe.

    I’m thinking about what my almost 80 yr old mom would have to say to Bee. …. She’d probably say Bee’s kids were “spoiled”. When I was growing up that was the worst thing a parent could do… have children that were “spoiled”. I know she thinks my siblings child is spoiled.

    I grew up in a time when children were to be “seen and not heard.” We were never to interrupt adults in conversation unless it was an emergency. Only speak when spoken to etc etc.And never ever “sass” an adult. Sit still and be quiet on those rare occasions when you go out to eat and eat what you parents order for you.

    Now that I think about it kids and adults lived in worlds that did not overlap that much. And I guess that was of the adults design. Albom talks about being sent out of the house with orders to not return until supper. That was common. Kids and adults avoided each other. And this was even before the rise of the “latch key” kids in the late 70’s.

    My observation is that as a group today’s middle class parents enjoy their children more than my parents generation enjoyed me and my peers.

    Hope this rambling makes a bit of sense.

Leave a Reply

