Before I Die I Want To

for National Poetry Month and inspired by this blog post
a semi-stream of consciousness poem

before i die i want to
visit the southern hemisphere,
learn to speak spanish, truly and finally,
and accept my mistakes as i go,
be a fabulous old woman,
starting now,
write a book,
and then another,
and then, perhaps, keep on going.

before i die i want to
learn a visual art,
canoe in the grand canyon,
push my body to its limits,
feel really deep fear
and live past it.

before i die i want to
see how my kids turn out,
know what contentment feels like,
sing on stage one more time,
be cured of my seasickness
so i can snorkel and scuba
that reef that’s slowly disappearing.

and i want to know what’s on your list.

2 thoughts on “Before I Die I Want To

  1. […] lovely Mary Ann wrote her list in a poem, and while I am not a poet, I am trying to get back in the habit of daily […]

  2. Before I die, I want to learn how to embrace the beauty of each moment.

Leave a Reply

