Lent: You’re Probably Doing It Wrong

I’ve been reading some discussion regarding this article by G. Jeffrey McDonald. McDonald laments the way that Lent is frequently observed within American Christianity and says:

We’re remaking [Lent] as a type of spiritual self-help whose effectiveness is measured by how well it entertains us and affirms what we already believe. Since Americans love parties and hate to do without, Christianity is evolving to deliver. The diminution of Lenten practices illustrates the trend and highlights what’s lost when religion becomes a consumer commodity.

I don’t deny elements of truth in what McDonald is saying. In fact the article strikes me as a very satisfying read for us church leaders, what with its hand-wringing, self-righteous tut-tuts and in-crowd high-fives.

It bugs me to tears, actually.

Please don’t misunderstand me. Consumerist Christianity is a big issue. And certainly the church has a prophetic duty to call people to deeper authenticity and radical discipleship. But this article smacks of caricature. McDonald characterizes Lent as a “joke” based on one comment from a friend. And “sumptuous” fish dinners on Fridays? This is the normative American Christian experience?

This kind of “you’re doing it wrong” carping is not productive. All of this reminds me of the discussion we had on this blog back in December about singing Christmas carols in the church during (gasp!) the season of Advent. I argued back then that maybe, just maybe, some people feel drawn to the music of Christmas during December not because they are worshiping the gods of Best Buy and Wal*Mart, but because they desperately need to immerse themselves in a message of Joy Right Now, to soak it up, because the world is a pretty dark place. Can we treat people like grownups and say that perhaps they have a good sense of what their hearts and spirits need without us telling them?

Why don’t we spend our time helping people connect their Lenten practices, whatever they might be, to the presence of the living God, rather than diagnosing those practices as inadequate? I know a woman who committed to run each day during Lent. I guess I can chide her for disrespecting Lent as a season for “spiritual self-help”… or I can help her make the connection between that practice and stewardship of the body, which Paul calls the temple of God. Heck, daily physical exercise sounds like a struggle to beat the sin of sloth, which last I checked was one of the seven deadlies! What could be more Lenten than that?

(BTW, this is part of the tension within the Sabbath stuff. Lots of people take time off for R&R and don’t call it Sabbath. Good for them. So my job isn’t to say “Well unless it’s got the Sabbath imprimatur, it’s only second best.” Instead, maybe I help them see ways that their practice of rest and play doesn’t just recharge the batteries, but connects them to a deep wellspring of joy and grace that [I believe] is a gift of the Holy.)

I appreciate these two posts on the Christian Century blog, both of which bring some much-needed nuance to the topic. I found the latter especially on point:

Is “true deprivation” really the point of fasting, or is true fasting measured by the extent to which it turns us toward God? Deprivation for deprivation’s sake could easily become competitive or self-aggrandizing. Biblical writers frequently make the point that God isn’t interested in displays of piety but in justice and love.

Amen.

6 thoughts on “Lent: You’re Probably Doing It Wrong

  1. In our dinner table devotion last night we discussed John the Baptist encouraging us to “make way” for the Lord. I talked with the kids (8 &10) about what it meant to prepare the way, and what potholes were in the path between us and God. Amazing the answers they came up with…funny and true and tangible. So then we pray to remove those potholes, so then we pray to prepare the way, so then we pray that our hearts will be ready each day to again receive Jesus “When will Lent be over?” my son asks and I am reminded that my need for spiritual disciplines for my children is about me, not about the kids and certainly not about what God needs (God needs nothing) and I have to laugh out loud, joyfully and contrite. “Lent is over at Easter.” Ben “prepare the way for Easter, get rid of the potholes between us and Easter! Bring on Easter!” Amen. I think we are readying ourselves for the truth of the Resurrection, even if it is in a fumbling and funny way.

  2. Sue says:

    SO glad you posted this. I have seen so many things about how/when/where to do Lent this year. Much of it I brought on myself as I was determined to “do it right” this year. I was all ready to wallow in my sin and get deep. I was going to journal and give centering prayer a try. Then, funny enough, all bunch of wonderful God moments started happening and it became so obvious that as long as I was focused on the right things, my own “practices” for Lent would be perfect and holy in the eyes of the only one who can judge. The Lenten (sorry, LOL) season has been full of God showing his glory in my life. It actually got to the point this week where I was questioning whether I was just too darn happy for this “dark” time. Luckily my wise pastor assured me otherwise 🙂 Centering prayer and journaling? Not for me right now. Keeping my eyes open for the work God is doing every day in my life? That is my Lenten practice this year.

  3. MaryAnn says:

    A related idea—my friend Jan posted this morning about pew cushions being “frowned upon” when she was growing up because “We are supposed to be uncomfortable during worship, and sitting up straight in those hard pews.”

    This is of a piece with the idea that the more sacrificial and austere the spiritual practice, the better. I just think it’s not that simple.

    http://www.achurchforstarvingartists.com/2011/03/wheres-my-deviled-egg-plate.html

  4. […] I’m a little wary of Lenten fasts as nothing more than self-help couched in spiritual terms: I’m going to give up sweets so I can lose some weight! Self-improvement is a good thing, but is a new exercise regimen during Lent really devotional at heart, or is it a second chance at the New Year’s resolution? (That said, I think some people take the hand-wringing a bit far.) […]

  5. […] I just found the above image on The Blue Room Blog and, first off, I love her post about Lent that I linked.  Go check it out if you’d […]

Leave a Reply

