Summary of the Retreat

As I look at this list, it feels like I must have been manic this week. I wasn’t, really. I was downright unhurried. I can only guess that getting away from distractions allows one to work at superhuman effectiveness… yet I felt very relaxed. Ah, retreat.

This week I made good progress on the Sabbath book. I…

  • Organized my research, source material, and writings in Evernote (Evernote will receive a mention in the acknowledgements…)
  • Pulled together all the Sabbath writing I’ve done for other sources and made it “book-ready” (took out references to sermons, etc.)
  • Typed and organized all of my handwritten notes into Evernote
  • Wrote almost 10,000 very crappy words, including 22 short pieces that will fit somewhere (I now have 30,000 words’ worth of an SFD. ELATED)
  • Wrote a long list of first lines and topic headings so I can dive easily into these “chunks” and write them over the next few months
  • Wrote a list of interview questions for people I need to talk to
  • Finished reading The Sabbath World and Heschel’s book on Sabbath, made progress on Marva Dawn’s book Keeping the Sabbath Wholly

I also:

  • rested
  • took a walk every day
  • worked cozily in my room during Thursday’s constant soaking rain and Friday’s blue-skied 60 mph winds
  • finished The Reason for God and wrote blog review
  • finished Lamb and wrote blog review
  • read A Walk in the Woods, said a prayer that I wouldn’t die of hypothermia while climbing Mt. Washington, NH this summer… IT HAPPENS
  • wrote Mindful Parenting blog review
  • began Griffindor scarf
  • listened to some of the new Studio 360 book on Kindle
  • flushed at least 20 stinkbugs down the toilet
  • drank a small glass of port almost every night
  • consumed lots of cinnamon-sugar pita chips and a small box of Trader Joe’s dark chocolate roasted pistachio toffee, along with lots of TJ meals (Trader Joe’s should also get a mention in the acknowledgements)
  • watched lots of trains go by, thought about James, took a video of one with my thumb in the corner of the viewfinder
  • had good conversations with the retirement-age woman who runs this retreat/B&B, appreciated the peacefulness of this place and her quiet life of hospitality
  • but realized that my place is where children are squabbling, practicing the piano, making train sound effects, bugging me to watch something… you know, what Zorba the Greek calls “the full catastrophe.”

Good to be home.

Image: Did I tell you it was rural?

4 thoughts on “Summary of the Retreat

  1. Mamala says:

    So glad you have such a great hubby who not only gifts things like this to you but doesn’t make you feel guilty for your time away. Yay R! (who should get the acknowledgement ahead of Evernote and Trader Joes). 😉

  2. Jan E. Lorah says:

    Wonderful week! It’s putting it all in order that makes it happen for me; seems to be similarly important for you. Aren’t retreats a God-send?

  3. Rachel Heslin says:

    Sounds like a wonderful (and productive!) experience.

Leave a Reply

