Should I Give Up Facebook?

Temporarily, that is.

Next week I will be on a writing retreat from Tuesday-Saturday. I’ll write more about that later; suffice to say I’m all agog for this opportunity to get started on the book in earnest.

The place I’m going has Wi-Fi, which is such a mixed blessing, of course. It will be great to FaceTime with my kids and with Robert, who is making this whole thing possible. And I will peek into e-mail every so often. But what about Facebook? It can be a gigantic timesuck, but it’s also a lifeline to friends and family. I created a bunch of lists in FB which reduces the amount of time I’m on it, so I’m not worried about squandering my time away. Still, part of me wants to go whole hog and stay completely off social media while I’m gone. It is a retreat, after all, albeit a working one.

I was lamenting to a friend that there was no way to temporarily suspend a FB account and he said, “Sure there is. Just have Robert change your password. That way you can’t get in.” He’s an evil genius!

So… what do you think? Should I tell Robert to lock me out?

What would you do?

13 thoughts on “Should I Give Up Facebook?

  1. Shala says:

    The thought of you leaving FB forever makes me sad. I’ve enjoyed our renewed connection. However, it’s hard to argue that FB is necessary for your work next week, which a more general connection to the Internet might be, so by all means have Robert change your password for the time you are gone so you can focus on the real point of the week.

  2. Byron Wade says:

    no! don’t do it!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Keith Snyder says:

    Freedom isn’t working for you anymore?

    • MaryAnn says:

      Ah, but that doesn’t get it off the iPhone.

      Freedom works fine, although I like the Self Control program better in various situations, because it blocks specific websites. Sometimes I need to look up something on wikipedia real quick and it’s nice to be able to do that.

  4. Erin Sikes says:

    I cannot think of a time when I have regretted a fast.

  5. Jan E. Lorah says:

    I’m for giving it up for a week. I did a writing retreat once… w/ no phone, no internet — even no toilet in my cabin!!! The amount of writing that surfaced was phenomenal. For myself, I build in rewards and restrictions… Maybe you could give it up for three days; give yourself a two-hour window mid-week; and then return to media-fasting for the remainder of the time. The reward? A trip to Borders w/ Caroline! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Keith Snyder says:

    Honestly? I’m for cutting yourself off entirely. iPhone at home, laptop WiFi disabled, and R has your hotel phone number.

    It’ll drive you ABSOLUTELY INSANE and you’ll return home with a whole lot of writing done.

  7. Rachel Heslin says:

    I add my vote to complete disconnection from the net, with the exception of scheduled family check-in times.

  8. Sarah says:

    I think I’m for the fast, except for family check in. Create the space. At least, give it a try.

Leave a Reply

