A Word on Busyness

Thanks to my friend Suzanne for sharing a blog post by Tara Gentile. This quote in particular spoke to me:

When you tell me how busy you are, that’s not what I hear you say. I hear you say that you’re afraid to stop, to try something different, to pause for no reason, to reflect, to jump forward. I hear you say that you fear you have no original ideas, that the world won’t accept your true passion, that the world will fall apart if you don’t just keep moving.

Now, there’s more that can be said about busyness that’s not all shadow side. When we live a life of connectedness and relationship, that costs us something in time and energy. People depend on us for real, tangible things. A person who’s not needed by anyone else is living a sad existence.

But there’s something in this quote that both describes me, and is also everything I fight against in my life. This is why I think, write, preach and live so much about Sabbath.

Maybe that’s why this E.B. White gem is forever one of my favorites:

If the world were merely seductive, that would be easy. If it were merely challenging, that would be no problem. But I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.

Read Tara’s whole post here.

4 thoughts on “A Word on Busyness

  1. marciglass says:

    Yesterday, I was having breakfast with a clergy friend and we were talking about taking our days off. I said that for me, taking a day off is an act of humility. It is telling others and myself that they can get by without me and function just fine for one day without my help.
    Or so I keep telling myself.
    Love the EB White quote.

  2. Keith Snyder says:

    Actually, what I fear is that I’ll end up stuck doing whatever it is you want from me.

  3. Sarah says:

    Love the EB White quote too – nails the struggle pretty succinctly. And it can be so hard to disengage from the busyness of others with whom I interact/work/engage – that whole systemic/cyclic thing.

Leave a Reply

