Reverb #17: Lesson Learned

December 17 Prompt: Lesson Learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?

Each month I develop a new set of intentions—things to focus on that month for my own mental, spiritual and physical health. These may change each month, but there are two that remain each and every month: to walk, and to laugh and sing each day.

It’s sad, I suppose, to have to remind oneself to laugh. But I need that reminder. Life can get pretty serious sometimes, and I can be WAY too earnest for my own good.

Thankfully my kids help me remember to laugh. It would be a much harder intention to fulfill without them in my life.

As for singing, what can I say? It improves my mood and helps me breathe more deeply. And if I can come up with a silly song to entertain the kids, so much the better. Caroline informed me that my traditional “good morning to you, good morning to you” song (sung to Happy Birthday) is getting “annoying.” So I said, “OK, how about some Christmasy alternatives?” Then I started making up some new stuff such as a rousing (!!) ditty to the tune of Jingle Bells: GET UP NOW! GET UP NOW! TIME TO GO DOWNSTAIRS!

So singing turns into laughing turns into singing. Excellent for one’s health, I say.

Leave a Reply

