Reverb #16

December 16 Prompt: Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst?

This has been a good question to ponder. I have felt more disconnected from my friends this year, for several reasons—busyness, inability to travel to see some good friends I miss dearly, the paradoxical effect of Facebook and Twitter to connect us to more people, but often more superficially. As I think about new intentions for 2011, I’m wanting to establish some better patterns.

But there are two answers that come quickly to mind: the first is the friendship of the Writing Revs. When I was trying to make a decision about where to focus my energy, they asked me, “What is the worst thing that could happen if you do X or Y?” That one question helped me break through a lot of anxiety I was feeling about making the “wrong” decision. Fact is, both options were good ones, so why the fear? Thanks R, L and S.

The second example is my friend J from college. We are both working on some personal health goals, and it’s been fun to cheer each other on, commiserate over setbacks, etc. He’s also been good about checking in with me personally when I post a sad or frustrated status on FB. We went through a period of many years when we didn’t keep in as good touch so it’s great to be in more frequent contact now. Though I wish he lived closer!

I knocked Facebook earlier in this post, but I also want to say that, despite the timesuck factor, it really does enrich my life. It’s snowing outside, which reminds me of how fun it was to experience Snowpocalypse “together” last winter. There is great wisdom and humor to be found there.

One thought on “Reverb #16

  1. Rachel Heslin says:

    Wow. This is one of the ones that words simply can’t do justice. I met someone two years ago (still counts for 2010) who completely changed my life, continually forcing me to question my most fundamental fears and assumptions, often by merely asking, “Why?” I feel a completely different person because of this friendship, impacting so many areas of my life: work, friends, my marriage, my dreams.

    I finally feel like I’m starting to become the person I want to be, and without this friend, I don’t know if I would have been able to say that.

Leave a Reply

