Reverb #11: 11 Things

December 11 – 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

Like Gretchen Rubin and Ben Franklin, I believe in the power of making resolutions and tracking them. (Actually I call them intentions, because it feels more gracious, like there’s a bit more give there.) So that’s the how—concrete, incremental steps toward change.

As for the effect? I would hope that letting go of this stuff would lead to a more abundant life. My mission (yes I have a statement—shouldn’t people have them, like organizations do?) is to create a life-giving story with my life and work and to call forth life-giving stories in others. So maybe jettisoning these things would help me get there:

1. perfection

2. haste

3. trans fat

4. fear

5. blandness

6. resentment

7. control

8. people-pleasing

9. torpor

10. busyness

11. “should”

3 thoughts on “Reverb #11: 11 Things

  1. I love your mission statement and your 11 things. I also have a personal mission statement (“to live passionately and compassionately, and empower and encourage others to do the same”) but when I tried to list 11 things this morning I couldn’t do it. I got to 6 and felt overwhelmed. So one of my 11 (well, 7, I suppose) has to be to let go of not finishing some assignments. Much like your 11! 🙂

  2. Jay says:

    I like the term goals instead of resolutions. That way it’s not so binary. You can make incremental progress towards a goal without achieving it and still feel good. You can only break a resolution.

Leave a Reply

