Reverb #8: Beautifully Different

Prompt: Beautifully different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I felt a thud in my gut when I read this one. Here they’ve been going along with relatively safe questions, and then bam! I guess I’ve internalized that weird Calvinist modesty thing more than I realize. How is the answer to this not just bragging? But I know it’s not. We all have gifts, and it’s good to know what those are.

I do wonder if they will get fewer takers on this one. Here’s a good one. I almost decided to pass, but I’m obsessive enough that it would bug me to have a hole on the 8th day.

So here are a few things. These aren’t necessarily the biggest things but they’re on my mind at the moment:

1. Eleven months ago, a person mentioned something to me in passing that gave me a great idea for a Christmas gift for him. I made note of in a tickler file in Things. It popped up on my list yesterday and I ordered it. This person is going to get a HUGE kick out of this, and it’s all thanks to my anal-retentive tendencies. Woohoo!

2. I have a way with words. And I was born to preach. (There, I said it… though others said it first.)

3. I remember what my AP English teacher wrote in my yearbook: “It is rare to meet a student who loves this class as much as I do.” There were other students who were stronger academically, but I adored that class. I fall head-over-heels for books, ideas, activities. That enthusiasm rubs off on other people.

4. Making connections: I think I am good at relating things to one another in unconventional ways. Last week I preached on Wall-E as the quintessential Advent movie.

5. I have a good memory for names and numbers. Remembering people’s names makes them feel special and loved. Remembering numbers mainly just entertains Robert, who is always agog that I remember my first cell phone number or the address I’ve looked up exactly once.

But enough about me… what makes YOU beautifully different?

7 thoughts on “Reverb #8: Beautifully Different

  1. Emily says:

    There’s nothing wrong with bragging about yourself once in a while πŸ™‚ It’s good to take time to focus on our better qualities!!

    (P.S. I found you through #reverb10 Twitter-ing!)

  2. Kerri says:

    I’m struggling to write mine too!

  3. Songbird says:

    Why, thank you. It’s certainly a tough prompt.

  4. Stephen says:

    This IS a tough prompt … but a good one for all of us to consider. I’d love to see your sermon on Wall-E. I’ve always thought it was more of a Christmas or Epiphany (i.e., incarnational) movie and I was/am totally outraged it wasn’t at least nominated for Best Picture.

  5. anne says:

    wish i lived close enough to come for more pop-ins to hear you preach. are your sermons up on-line in audio format?

  6. Hallie says:

    Please post a link to your Wall-E sermon! My husband and I would love to read it! I hope you and your family have a joyous Advent and Christmas season! πŸ™‚

  7. Rachel Heslin says:

    I respect that every human being is the hero of his or her own story, and I try to help them see the beauty in the story that is their own.

Leave a Reply

