You Know What Next Friday Is!!!!

It’s the National Day of Listening!

This is a Story Corps-sponsored event in which folks across the country are invited to interview their family and friends and record the conversation.

I love this event because:

  • people are generally together on Thanksgiving weekend, and in my experience, sitting around and talking is just about everyone’s speed following Turkey Day
  • it gives you an “excuse” to reminisce and ask questions
  • I love stories. And Story.
  • it’s a nice alternative to Black Friday.

We dabbled in this a little bit last year. I interviewed Caroline, Robert and his mother. I remember sitting on the floor of our family room with the laptop going… hmm, I wonder where those sound files are?

This year it will just be the Danas for Thanksgiving weekend, but I’m contemplating a remote session with far-flung family.

The StoryCorps website has some suggested questions such as Who has been the most important person in your life? and What are you proudest of in your life?

Those aren’t bad, but I bet we could come up with some really good ones. Leave your suggestion in comments… here’s one off the top of my head:

It is said that bad decisions make good stories. Can you think of an example from your own life?

2 thoughts on “You Know What Next Friday Is!!!!

  1. Jan Lorah says:

    To borrow a question from a pastor we know (used at new member’s dessert at her house): If you could do anything you wanted w/o fear of failure, what would it be?

  2. Sarah says:

    Tell me about something you learned “the hard way.” Has it been easy to remember? Why/why not, or do you still do/not do what you learned. A variation on your suggestion, I realize.

    What is your favorite food to eat? To make/create on your own? Share with friends?

    If you could be a character in a book, who would you be/what book would you want to “live in?”

    I love Story Corps too!

Leave a Reply

